Monday, August 29, 2016

She Sins At Midnight by Whitney Dineen

From Goodreads:

Lila Montgomery, thirty-two-year-old Hollywood assistant extraordinaire, has a secret. On the outside, she’s a hard-working dedicated employee, a good friend, and a loving daughter. But above all else, she’s been raised to be a lady, which of course is why she’s determined to conceal her secret life. If her straight-laced friends and family back home ever discover that she is really the smashing new author of a steamy romance novel, their disapproval would shame her forever! That’s why Lila has chosen to publish her sexy narrative under the nom de plume, Jasmine Sheath.

With her fifteenth high school class reunion on the horizon, Lila finds herself at a crossroads. More than anything she wants to go home and see her childhood friends but is embarrassed that she hasn’t accomplished the things she feels she should have by this time in her life; mainly marriage and children.

After another brutal run-in with Melinda Forrester, Oscar nominated actress and client of her boss, Josh Furber, Lila decides that fleeing Hollywood for a month is the best thing for her. Lila packs her bags for her childhood home of Bentley Hills, sure that her friends and family will be the touchstone of normalcy that she so desperately needs. What she doesn't expect is that Melinda will follow her and a tabloid media circus will ensue!

Not only does Lila discover that her home is nothing like she remembers, but she meets and falls in love with the very man that inspired the hero in her novel.

She Sins at Midnight is full of laugh out loud hi-jinks that will make you never look at Hollywood the same way again!

Author, Whitney Dineen, swears that this novel is based purely on fiction and that any characters bearing any resemblance to any celebrities you know are completely and totally fictitious; even though she spent eighteen years in La La Land, with a celebrity client base for her real job…

My Take:

This was a really fun book! Lila gets herself into all kinds of predicaments that had me laughing out loud. It was also surprisingly clean. Okay, I'd give it a PG-13 rating because Melinda has no qualms about walking around naked. And, Lila writes erotica, but we never see that. There is a fade to black scene, but nothing that I'd be embarrassed for my teen daughters to see.

I kept laughing at how Lila was embarrassed for everyone to know she wrote a book, and yet everyone is reading it. It's also funny how even Melinda reads it and thinks the Countess is the heroine of the story.

Seriously, this was just a fun read. I give this a 4.5.

1-5 scale and what it means:
1: I couldn’t even finish it / just plain bad
2: I hope I didn’t pay for this / disappointing
3: I didn’t hate it, but it was still missing something / forgettable but inoffensive
3.5: On the line between good and ok / like, not love
4: Solid mind candy / worth reading
4.5: So very close to perfection! / must read
5: I could not put it down and I’m still thinking about it! / a true treasure

Friday, August 26, 2016

Rocky Mountain Search and Rescue by Katie Ruggle

Most of the romances I review fall into the clean category. That's my goal, to share great clean romance because I know they are hard to find. This series doesn't fall into that category. I wanted you to know that up front. However, I loved these books so much I had to share them with you. I also appreciated that although Ruggle has sex scenes, they are not the purpose of the story. They don't happen just because it needed to be thrown in. And there is usually just one that is easy to skip (which is what I do so I can't comment on the quality of those scenes).

So, here are the three books in the series that are currently available.

Book 1--Hold Your Breath
 I loved this book for the suspense and the growing romance. But seriously, the suspense and the mystery is what sucked me in, held me by the throat, and convinced me to click buy on book 2 in the series. Ruggle writes clean compelling stories. There is a mystery slowly unfolding over the course of the series, but there is a secondary threat/suspense line for each individual book as well.

In book one we meet Lou and Callum of the rescue dive team. Lou is a hoot! She says what she wants and has a tendency to find trouble. I mean, come on, she's practicing dive and rescue techniques when she kicks a headless body in the frozen lake! She's fairly new to the Colorado town, having finally left home and the controlling parents and ex-fiance. She'd determined to stand on her own two feet and make her own choices. She'll learn that letting the dive team become her new family, who has her back, is invaluable.

Callum is the quiet brooding type, but even he can't resist Lou's crazy energy. He's drawn to her and wants to make sure she stays safe at all costs. They just have to survive the line up of bad guys lurking in the shadows. (Having read the next two books, I'm going to stop there because I don't want to let any spoilers slip!)

Book 2--Fan the Flames
We still don't know who killed Willard Gray (the headless guy from book 1), but the killer is doing all he can to frame firefighter Ian Walsh. Ian might be a firefighter, but some people can't forget or forgive the fact he grew up as part of the local motorcycle gang. To top it off, the "family" can't forgive him for moving toward the lawful side of things. Poor Ian doesn't seem to fit anywhere.

Neither does Rory. She runs her own gun shop and tries to keep all sides happy. In order to survive she has to sell to the motorcycle gang as well as the more trustworthy locals.

I have to admit I really loved all the gun talk. Who knew! Rory wants to be tough, but she needs Ian as much as Lou needed Callum. Rory's fears have her trying to keep him at arms length, but she's really been his since her 12th birthday when he bought her a pink cupcake. I love her social awkwardness and the way Ian keeps storming through her walls.

This book has guns, bombs, more fires from our serial arsonist, a few clues, but no real progress on Gray's killer. We do however take care of the people after Rory, and she learns to let a few more people into her solitary life.

Book 3--Gone Too Deep
Holy cow! I'm still reeling from the reveal at the end of this one! Okay, let me try to go back to the beginning...

Okay, Ellie and George. Ellie is Baxter's estranged daughter. For those who haven't read the first two books, Baxter was a war buddy of Willard Gray, the headless guy from book 1 (Hold Your Breath). Everyone is trying to find him in the hopes he can shed some light on the murder. He however has a lot of mental issues, the least of which is his inability to trust anyone. And the truth is, what he knows is reason enough to not trust anyone! Ellie comes to Colorado in an effort to find him and get him the help he needs. She doesn't really believe that bad guys are after him.

George agrees to lead Ellie to a cabin through miles of snow covered wilderness. The great thing about George is he is as anti-social as Rory, but worse because he only communicates in grunts. It's a product of being alone for so long. He's impressed with Ellie. She keeps going without complaining even though she's blistered and tired. He finds he likes taking care of her and entertains thoughts of "keeping her". Although that might sound creepy, coming from George it's really sweet.

The Anderson brothers are following the two through the wilderness in the hopes of being led to Baxter. They are trouble with a capital T, but the scarier part is they were put on the trail by the killer from book 1. At the end, we learn his identity.

I'll be honest, I was crushed! I've been secretly chanting "don't let it be ??" for a book and a half and now that I know I'm so sad! I read the teaser for book 4 and can't wait until it's available. There is a good reason given, but it's still sad that someone who seems so good could be the bad guy. I'm looking forward to seeing how the whole thing wraps up!

I give this series a 5 because I actually shelled out money for books 2, 3, and plan to buy the final book in the series. 

1-5 scale and what it means:
1: I couldn’t even finish it / just plain bad
2: I hope I didn’t pay for this / disappointing
3: I didn’t hate it, but it was still missing something / forgettable but inoffensive
3.5: On the line between good and ok / like, not love
4: Solid mind candy / worth reading
4.5: So very close to perfection! / must read
5: I could not put it down and I’m still thinking about it! / a true treasure
SaveSave

Tuesday, August 23, 2016

The Reluctant Bachelorette by Rachael Anderson

From Goodreads:

Luke Carney has no idea what possessed him to move back to Shelter Springs, Colorado, to set up his veterinarian practice. His parents have long since left, the small farming community is on the brink of extinction, and only one close friend from his childhood remains--Taycee Emerson, his best friend’s little sister, who isn’t so little anymore.

Then there’s the matter of Shelter’s Bachelorette, an online reality dating show created to raise some much needed funds for the town.

Unwittingly cast as the bachelorette, Taycee wants out, especially when she discovers that Luke, her childhood crush, is back in town and will be one of the bachelors. To make matters worse, it's up to the viewers--not her--to decide which bachelors stay or go. And they all seem to like Luke.

Unwilling to let him break her heart again, Taycee launches a subtle attack on Luke’s good name with the hope of getting him voted off the show. But she’d forgotten that Luke's an eye-for-an-eye kind of guy, and when he discovers what she's up to, it means revenge.

My Take:
This was one fun ride! I thought I might get bored watching Taycee date all these different guys when I knew she really liked Luke, but I didn't. Anderson does a great job making all the scenes exciting and balancing them between the reality show and the real romance. Taycee tries so hard to deny how much she has always (and still does) prefer Luke. And Luke struggles to understand why he feels so different about Taycee this go around.

I found myself laughing a lot in this book. The shenanigans Taycee gets herself into are hilarious! And I have to say, with friends like Jessa, who needs enemies! There were times I thought Jessa was over the top and completely unfeeling toward the pressure she was placing on Taycee. In the end she redeems herself...a little bit.

The writing and editing are great, nothing pulls you out of the story and I felt the emotions and situations made sense. That's one of the greatest compliments I can give to a story!

I give The Reluctant Bachelorette a 4.5.

1-5 scale and what it means:
1: I couldn’t even finish it / just plain bad
2: I hope I didn’t pay for this / disappointing
3: I didn’t hate it, but it was still missing something / forgettable but inoffensive
3.5: On the line between good and ok / like, not love
4: Solid mind candy / worth reading
4.5: So very close to perfection! / must read
5: I could not put it down and I’m still thinking about it! / a true treasure
SaveSave

Monday, August 15, 2016

Kisses Between the Lines: An Echo Ridge Anthology

Welcome to Echo Ridge, New York, where romance finds its way into the lives of the people who walk the streets of the close-knit community. In these five novellas, listeners will experience the power a book has to change a life, make dreams come true, and bring two hearts together.

My thoughts are in italics after each summary.

The Kiss Thief by Rachelle J. Christensen - -The old Echo Ridge library is in desperate need of a renovation. Librarian Britta Kleins heart refuses to be swayed by musician Milo Geissler and his irresistible dimpled smile. But when he helps her find a key classic book, Britta wonders if there is more to life than books and order.

There were parts of this story that I loved simply because my dad is German. Sadly, he didn't have the accent because he's full-blooded German born and raised in America. :) Anyway, Britta is so determined to never get involved with a German boy because of the way she was teased growing up that she almost misses out on the love of her life. I loved how being around Milo brought out the little bits of her childhood that she did love until finally she was willing to take a risk. I also loved the music metaphors throughout. Lovely!

I give this one a 4.

The Lion, the Witch & the Library by Lucy McConnell - - Jennifer Solomons birthday wish is to have the one person shes been too shy to go after: Kirke Staples, her best friend. Friend, as in don't fall in love with the man. But its too late. In her efforts to win Kirkes heart, Jennifer is forced to decide what type of woman she wants to be.

Jennifer was a lot of fun from the very beginning. The story starts with her realizing she wants more from her best friend. Unfortunately, he's been actively trying to get the attentions of Bay Barrington (an actress who comes to visit and causes a TON of trouble!). Kirke is a bit frustrating to me. He's attracted to Jennifer, but he keeps thinking that since he put so much time and effort into meeting Bay that he needs to follow through with that. Stupid clueless men! There's some great drama as both of them go back and forth trying to figure out what they really want.

I give this one a 4.

The Last of the Gentlemen by Cami Checketts - - Working nights and struggling through life, Emma Turner doesnt leave much time for romance. But when her sons good-looking lacrosse coach takes an interest in her children, Emma has to fight off desire and banish her daydreams. If only she could tell that to her heart.

Chayton finally gets his chance at love! I really liked him as a character in the Christmas stories. He might not have been right for Chelsea, but he was just such a good guy you couldn't help hoping he found love soon. And Emma is such a sweet and deserving recipient of his attentions. I love how he does everything he can to make Emma and her girls smile simply because he likes to see them smile. He truly is like a knight in shining armor riding in to save the day.

I give this one a 4. 

Much Ado about a Kiss by Heather Tullis - - The one thing Fay doesn't need right now is a guy in her life, especially her brother's irritating best friend from high school, whose kiss made her heart flutter. Why does he have to upset her just-fine world? Not this time. Not if she can help it. But can she?

Oh! This story made me so sad for Fay. She's been stressing over a kiss for years not knowing what was really behind it. I love Fay and her artistic approach to life and the cafe. Austin remembers the kiss quite differently than Fay. They both have to come to a new understanding of what happened then in order to move forward with their feelings now. 

I give this one a 4.

Pride & Persuasion by Connie E. Sokol - - Lindy Marchant is roped into the Echo Ridge library fundraiser to become an assistant for Armand D. Beaumont, a bestselling detective writer. While Armand inadvertently assists Lindy with the shop, she uncovers his painful truth and an inconvenient growing attraction.

After getting a glimpse of Armand from The Kiss Thief, it's nice to see what was going on with him and Lindy. We've got two strong personalities butting heads and they don't even know why! There are some fun surprises along the way and both find their futures are more hopeful with each other in their lives. 

I give this one a 4.

I really enjoyed the collection as a whole. It was clean, sweet, and all the stories were well written. I give the entire thing a solid 4.

1-5 scale and what it means:
1: I couldn’t even finish it / just plain bad
2: I hope I didn’t pay for this / disappointing
3: I didn’t hate it, but it was still missing something / forgettable but inoffensive
3.5: On the line between good and ok / like, not love
4: Solid mind candy / worth reading
4.5: So very close to perfection! / must read
5: I could not put it down and I’m still thinking about it! / a true treasure

Friday, August 12, 2016

Spring in Snow Valley

I've wanted to move to Snow Valley since the first story collection came out. This newest installment was like going home for a nice visit. There are new characters to love, glimpses of past characters, and some nice surprises. Let's break it down, story by story.
From Goodreads and My Take:
Spring is in the air and so is romance in the small town of Snow Valley, Montana.

Operation—Kiss the Girl, Cindy Roland Anderson

Ivy Baker is doomed to marry a man she only pretends to be in love with to save the family ranch. Since she isn’t marrying for love, Ivy secretly creates a kissing wish list composed of scenes from the romance books she loves to read. She hopes to experience at least one kiss from her list before she becomes officially engaged and seals her fate. When she travels to Snow Valley to help her aunt recover from knee surgery, Ivy finds herself falling for Kellen Thomas, an irresistible cowboy she should avoid. By chance Kellen finds Ivy’s list, and decides to make it his mission to help her fulfill her bucket list, turning her world upside down and making Ivy want to choose her heart over duty. 

Ivy is the quintessential martyr. She's the only girl in a family of cowboys, and although her brothers love and care for her, her father has made her feel like her only purpose is to marry a jerk to get the water rights back. I'll admit I didn't like her dad at all even though he had already died by the time this story started. I found myself frustrated with Ivy for not telling her brothers what was going on, and with the brothers for being so clueless. Having said all of that, I can see something like this happening. Guys are clueless. Especially when it comes to their own sisters. The real star of the story for me was Kellen. I've wanted his story ever since Caytie and Jace got together. Kellen is such a good guy, working through his own issues after being wounded in Afghanistan. When he stumbles upon Ivy's "places to be kissed" bucket list he makes it his goal to check as many off as possible for her. This story made me smile and of course, the rat Corbin gets his in the end.

Love Coming Late, Jeanette Lewis

Cynthia Eddington never thought she'd return to Snow Valley after a string of bad luck forced the sale of her beloved farm there. But here she is, about to start a new life with her children, Jackson and Anoria. Cynthia plans to focus on her career and her family; she's not looking for romance and she's definitely not looking for sexy cowboy, Colby Schroder.

This was one of the first pleasant surprises. Although I love stories of new love, it was refreshing to have an older couple getting a second chance at love. Cynthia is a widow with two almost grown kids. Colby is a little younger, divorced and the father of an adorable little girl. First, I liked the fact their ages didn't match perfectly. Life rarely fits into the neat packages that often become the template for romance novels. So, yay! I love that the issues keeping these two apart are also real, valid concerns in situations like this. Cynthia's daughter likes Colby, and even though the distance between their ages is greater than the distance between him and Cynthia, it creates quite the puddle of quicksand. The scene that made me love this story more than anything is the dance scene when Cynthia lets go. I can so relate to that scene! 

Running from the Cowboy, Cami Checketts

Missy Horman escaped an abusive marriage and returns to Snow Valley to help her father deal with her emotionally disturbed mother. Volunteering to teach a youth Sunday school class seems like a good way to get out of her comfort zone—until she ends up kissing Porter Wilson in front of a bunch of teenagers. Embarrassed, and secretly thrilled, by the kiss, she writes Porter off as a playboy. But, Missy wasn't the only one affected and Porter's new mission in life is to prove that there's more to him than flirting and world-tilting kisses. He wants to show her that a true cowboy knows how to treat a lady and, if Missy can't keep her wits about her, she might just let him.

Squee! The Wilson boys are back! Last we saw Luke falling for Annie while Missy was left to recover from an abusive marriage. I liked that Missy stepped out of Annie's way because she recognized their love and wasn't going to be one of "those" women. Now Luke's brother Porter is noticing Missy. The very first chapter is a hoot and the excitement just keeps going full steam ahead! Porter pulls out all the stops to convince Missy that her "no more cowboys" rule should fly right out the window. LOVED IT! 4.5

The Bet, Taylor Hart

When Destiny Morningstar gets blackmailed into spending her spring break in Snow Valley, the last thing she’s looking for is a date, especially not with Adam and Chase Moon—two attractive and athletic brothers. But soon she finds herself tangled up in a dating spree that includes a flag football game, swinging around the barn dance, and hiking to Snow Valley's romantic hot springs with the town's most eligible bachelors. At every turn she's within kissing distance of one of the delectable Moon men. When she discovers she’s been part of some bet fueled by sibling rivalry and overactive egos she has to make a decision—forgive them both or miss out on the best thing that’s ever happened to her.

Where to start?? Boy, brothers especially, are so crazy! Adam and Chase have both set their sights on Destiny. Both tried to call "dibs" but when neither is willing to back down they decide that the first one to kiss her wins. It's a fun and confusing ride for Destiny to be sure, but when Adam doesn't kiss her simply because it means more to him than the bet, things go downhill fast. Can Adam convince her it always meant more to him than winning? LOVED IT! 4.5

Sealed with a Kiss, Kimberley Montpetit

Jessica Mason and Pastor James are struggling to make their long-distance relationship work between Snow Valley and New Orleans where Jessica dances with the local ballet company. When April Murphy, a war widow with a child, shows up in Snow Valley, James reluctantly begins to wonder if he and Jessica are really meant to be. April would make the perfect pastor’s wife and he’d have an instant family and the stability he craves. But he can’t get the spitfire Jessica out of his mind and when she returns to Snow Valley to accept an inheritance, her male ballet partner in tow, the love triangle takes on a new edge. Can Jessica and James figure out how to create a family while living in two different states—or do they allow their hearts to move on and forget the passion they once shared?

This is Jessica and Pastor Jame's continuing story. It's been almost two years since they met and they've been doing the long distance relationship thing. Jessica is doing much better, but she's still a bit broken inside. It's like she just can't decide what it is she really wants. To be honest, this was my least favorite story. It's still good, but I thought Jessica was a jerk a lot of the time. Even though she talks about others deserving better, she doesn't really act like she cares about anyone's feelings but her own. It's probably just that I don't understand physically torturing yourself for a dream that isn't making you happy. 

Romancing a Husband, Lucy McConnell

Natalie Lawson is at a crossroads.

This was the other really great surprise of the collection for me. How many times do you get to see a married couple struggle to find love again? The pain of this story was so real. So crippling to all involved. And yet you have some wise friends giving advice that in the end gives Natalie and Eli the strength and courage to step back and try again. Natalie has to learn to stop tip-toeing around the problem and understand it's not her job to make Eli happy. Eli has to learn that just because he's out of work doesn't mean he's unworthy of Natalie's love and affection. I love stories that are true to life, but come with a happy ending! 4.5

I give Spring in Snow Valley a solid 4, with some individual stories a 4.5.

1-5 scale and what it means:
1: I couldn’t even finish it / just plain bad
2: I hope I didn’t pay for this / disappointing
3: I didn’t hate it, but it was still missing something / forgettable but inoffensive
3.5: On the line between good and ok / like, not love
4: Solid mind candy / worth reading
4.5: So very close to perfection! / must read
5: I could not put it down and I’m still thinking about it! / a true treasure

Wednesday, August 10, 2016

Until Summer Ends by Elana Johnson

From Goodreads

Sophie Newton is determined to prove herself to her father, who insists she could never run a successful business. She opens a beachside taco stand called The Sandy Tortilla and plans to make her own way, one burrito at a time. When she loses her summer help, Sophie rushes to find somebody to help take orders. She finds that somebody in Montgomery Winters, a struggling actor from LA.

Mont takes the job; the money’s useful, though he finds that his curvy boss is what really keeps him around. As Sophie and Mont work, they discover an intense attraction between them. But when Mont’s agent calls him about a career-making audition, he decides he must pursue the opportunity, even though he can’t get Sophie out of his head.

Now, Sophie must choose between chasing after the man she’s falling in love with and the business she’s fought so hard to build.

My Take:
First off, I've always loved Johnson's easy to read writing style. She draws you in and lets your imagination create the pictures. There isn't any author intrusion to throw you out, and I appreciate that.

I could totally relate to Sophie and her little OCD neurosis. Seriously, there were so many things she did that I've done myself. Falling in love with someone you know won't be staying around is amazingly hard on someone who needs to feel like they are in control of their future. All those emotions and challenges are there, and Sophie works through them one by one. Working through the process with her was therapeutic.

Mont is also complex and fascinating. He's a giver. He's determined to make it big so he can help pay for his father's medical bills. Sure, he's doing what he loves, but when it comes down to the big chance or staying with Sophie, he has real reasons for the hard choice. I like that. It isn't some silly little thing that's pulling him away from what he wants.

In the end they both have to take chances and make a few changes.

I give Until Summer Ends a 4.5!

1-5 scale and what it means:
1: I couldn’t even finish it / just plain bad
2: I hope I didn’t pay for this / disappointing
3: I didn’t hate it, but it was still missing something / forgettable but inoffensive
3.5: On the line between good and ok / like, not love
4: Solid mind candy / worth reading
4.5: So very close to perfection! / must read
5: I could not put it down and I’m still thinking about it! / a true treasure

Wednesday, August 3, 2016

Caribbean Rescue by Cami Checketts

Welcome back! Caribbean Rescue is now available.

Here are the links:
Find Caribbean Rescue - Amazon * Goodreads
*Enter below to win a $50 gift card and a copy of The Independent One: A Billionaire Bride Pact Romance

I was lucky enough to get a chance to read this book before it's release. Here's a blurb reminder, with my review below.

Blurb:
Superstar runner Zack Tyndale was the easy favorite to win gold in the Olympic Games, but a stupid decision shatters his dreams the night before the big race. Unable to face his shame, he escapes to the Caribbean and a life of blissful solitude ... until Madeline Panetto crash lands on his pristine private beach, trying to outrun a gang of pirates with nothing but a fancy evening gown and a flash drive hidden in her bra. Zack finds himself sucked into Maddy's world of mutiny and murder.

Madeline might find refuge from the pirates, but Zach is battling pirates of his own. When sparks fly between them, they're forced to look to their hearts for the answers and that could be more frightening than facing a mutinous crew.

Can these two find refuge from the pirates and with each other?

My Take:
It's no secret that Checketts is one of my favorite clean romantic suspense writers. She has a easy to read (and get lost in) writing style. Her characters are well rounded with hidden depths that are slowly revealed as the story progresses. I also love that Checketts lets the attraction and trust develop naturally even if it must be fast for the story.

Maddie is a good girl, caught up in a big mess because of her father. Zack steps up to help even though he'd rather stay hidden away on his private island. He turns out to be a soft hearted, kind man, willing to risk himself to try and help this strange and clumsy woman.

There was a great balance of suspense with the romance. I even liked how at the end Maddie has to face Bello without Zack. Most romantic suspense has the guy running in to save the day, but life isn't always like that. This was a nice change for me!

I give Caribbean Rescue a 4.5!

1-5 scale and what it means:
1: I couldn’t even finish it / just plain bad
2: I hope I didn’t pay for this / disappointing
3: I didn’t hate it, but it was still missing something / forgettable but inoffensive
3.5: On the line between good and ok / like, not love
4: Solid mind candy / worth reading
4.5: So very close to perfection! / must read
5: I could not put it down and I’m still thinking about it! / a true treasure

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, August 1, 2016

Five Magic Spindles A collection of Sleeping Beauty stories

From Goodreads
Awaken the Magic!

Emma, a good-hearted midwife, rushes to warn a neighbor about the hired gunman headed to his ranch but can't prevent the catastrophe in store for his daughter.

Palli, the prophesied daughter of a king, is fated to rescue her people from the destruction called forth by a vengeful priest. 

Roselee, a ghost with a faulty memory, flits through the halls of an insane asylum in search of the mortal boy who can help her save the day.

Arabella, a living spirit trapped in her own comatose body, helplessly watches from the realm of dreams as her usurping cousin plots to destroy her once and for all.

Tanza, a tomb raider on a distant planet, struggles to make a living and doesn’t need a long-lost prince to complicate her difficult life.

One way or another, these beauties have no intention of sleeping away their problems.

My Take:

First, I was asked to read and review Spindle Cursed specifically. I hope to eventually get the time to read the other shorts in this anthology. However, for now, here's the review of Spindle Cursed.

Spindle Cursed (Arabella's story)
I loved the unique look at Sleeping Beauty from this angle. How can a Prince feel true love for someone he's never met? This story answers that question in a simple and yet ingenious way. The writing is clean, beautifully descriptive, and satisfying in every way. Gritty villains, a wonderfully developed fantasy world, dragons, spells, magic, humor, and sweet romance.

I give Spindle Cursed a solid 4.5. Great writing, great twist on a classic with wonderful imagery.

1-5 scale and what it means:
1: I couldn’t even finish it / just plain bad
2: I hope I didn’t pay for this / disappointing
3: I didn’t hate it, but it was still missing something / forgettable but inoffensive
3.5: On the line between good and ok / like, not love
4: Solid mind candy / worth reading
4.5: So very close to perfection! / must read
5: I could not put it down and I’m still thinking about it! / a true treasure